Fritag – The Ultimate Book Tag

So, for this Fritag we wanted to do something ultimate – so The Ultimate Book Tag is the perfect one!

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

Wendy:
Nope! I used to though when I was a kid. But it’s like I somehow learned to not be sick and tada – now I can read whenever I want.

Jaike:
Always! Even if I don’t read a book I get sick.

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

Wendy:
The writing style of my favorite author ever: Morgan Matson! Why? It’s so unique because she is literally the best when it comes to combining friends, family and love elements (which is totally essential with contemporary). She is the contemporary queen!!

Jaike:
Sarah J. Maas. Oh my gash I love her writing. She’s unique with her concepts, can’t say that I can’t love it.

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

Wendy:
OMG. I would have to admit something to you guys, and you won’t be happy about it. I actually never read Harry Potter nor the Twilight Saga (I’m feeling very ashamed right now). I don’t feel like reading Twilight though, but I definitely want to collect all the Harry Potter books and of course – read all of them!

Jaike:
Harry Potter because the beatiful writing. And I grew up reading and watching Harry Potter. I have great memories watching and reading Harry Potter. Oh and I love the concept and Snape.

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is it in (besides books…)?

Wendy:
I actually haven’t. I bought an e-reader recently, so that’s the book I’m always carrying with me 😉

Jaike:
Yes here a Dutch publisher has these book bags and I carry mine everywhere. It features: my public transport card, my keys, headphones and a ereader.

5. Do you smell your books?

Wendy:
Of course, I do! Who doesn’t?!

Jaike:
Always. -you get the Harry Potter reference?-

 6. Books with or without little illustrations?

Wendy:
I read Everything, Everything two years ago and I really liked the little drawing at the end of the chapters. I’ve also read The Proverbial Mr. Universe that had a little note at the end of each chapter. But I also like when a book is just words. So I’ll go with both. I actually don’t mind that much.

Jaike:
Without. It’s a little disturbing to me. I can’t handle the distraction while I focus on the letters. But I want to have the illustrated version of Harry Potter, because of Harry Potter.

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing? (Ex. I read Twilight before I read HP and thought the writing was amazing but read HP and now think Twilight is a little bit of a joke.)

Wendy:
Some really infamous contemporary books are I loved reading because of the swoony-ness, but as I look back there not that great when it comes to quality writing.

Jaike:
I had that with the books of John Green. I read them 4 years ago, or even longer ago. If I look at the books now I think: how could I ever loved that?

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

Wendy:
Nope.. I only started reading when I was fourteen years old. I never got to experience all the drama and fangirling about Harry Potter and all that kind of stuff – and I miss it. It feels like I’m not entirely part of the book world somehow. That’s why I want to read them very soon!

Jaike:
I was 4 when I started to read. So a few years I could read books by my self. I’m really proud of that.

9. What is the thinnest book on your shelf?

Wendy:
The Stepford Wives by Ira Levin

Jaike:
Het eerste boek van Tess by Miriam Bruijstens, it’s a Dutch New Adult. Translation: Tess’ first book.

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

Wendy:
City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

Jaike:
Or Under the dome by Stephen King or Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare.

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

Wendy:
Sometimes I actually do. When I was a kid I would Always write little stories and let them read my friends, and most of them really enjoyed them. I also wanted to start a book/story a lot of times, but I never got the courage to continue it. But who knows – maybe I’ll start a story and actually finish one in the near future. I would very like to do that.

Jaike:
There is this writing contest here in The Netherlands with the grand price: getting your book published. And yes I’m competing in it. So yes I’m writing, but I can’t imagine me as an author.

12. When did you get into reading?

Wendy:
Ah, my best friend Merle dragged me into the book world. She said I should watch The Hunger Games and when I liked it, I should read the book. So I followed her advice and yup. I was totally enchanted by books – and I still am!

Jaike:
I was in to reading when I was in primary school. Then I quit and when I was fourteen I picked Divergent up, started reading and I was hooked. Couldn’t stop reading anymore.

13. What is your favorite classic book?

Wendy:
Well, I never read classics. Whoops. I’m too wound up into my contemporary bubble.

Jaike:
I have not read any classics, whoops sorry guys.

14. In school was your best subject Language Arts/English?

Wendy:
I actually don’t know what Language Arts is, but I was definitely very good in English.

Jaike:
I liked my English lessons and graduated with an eight (out of ten) so yes I was good in English. But I suck in German and French..

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated…what would you do?

Wendy:
I’d thank the person – because I won’t take a gift for granted. And after that, I would set it up in my bookshelf. A book is a book, right? You got to cherish that. Even when you don’t like the inside.

Jaike:
I would say thank you, be polite because I don’t want to her his or her feelings. I put it on my shelf where it will stay forever.

16. What is a lesser known series that you know of that is similar to Harry Potter or the Hunger Games?

Wendy:
The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau! It’s a mix between The Hunger Games and Divergent, and I’d actually really liked it.

Jaike:
Like Wendy says The testing is a good mix. Or The Program by Suzanne Young, read the first book in an afternoon, says a lot.

17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while filming?

Wendy:
I never film. I hide behind my screen.

Jaike:
Avoiding the camera.

18. What is your favorite word?

Wendy:
Definitely OMG (yes, in capital) – because you can use it anywhere, with everyone.

Jaike:
Oh my god, in all its different forms.

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

Wendy:
Hmm. Probably a dork. But I don’t really know though.

Jaike:
I’m a nerd for sure.

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

Wendy:
Well, if all vampires looked like Raphael from Shadowhunters – it’s vampires FOR SURE

Jaike:
Fairies because I would like to operate in the daylight, I’m not really a night person.

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

Wendy:
Maybe angels? It kind of scares me when people can change shapes.

Jaike:
Angels, because I’m an angel myself.

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

Wendy:
I don’t even know.

Jaike:
Spirits, don’t like the hair everywhere.

23. Zombies or Vampires?

Wendy:
No doubt – vampires.

Jaike:
Zombies! I love the walking dead.

 24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

Wendy:
NOPE. I am not doing this. This is WAY TOO HARD. I LOVE BOTH!!

Jaike:
Forbidden love!

25. AND FINALLY: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

Wendy:
Do I really have to answer this question? We all sure know the answer.

Jaike:
Action-packes with a few love scenes. Sorry Wendy I need my action.


So that was it! Make sure to tune in next week when we tackle another tag.

we w

Leave a Reply

